Recipe #25: Cinnamon Nutmeg Waffles

I have a weakness for waffles. Every time breakfast rolls around and we’re planning on having waffles I immediately think of Donkey in the first Shrek movie when he says “We can stay up late, swapping manly stories, and in the morning, I’m making waffles!”

I’ve had this waffle recipe saved for sometime because the waffles look amazing. So fluffy and tall!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 4 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 cups buttermilk, room temperature

Preparation Instructions

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, sugars and spices. In another bowl beat together the eggs and melted butter, then add the buttermilk. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until combined. Allow to rest for 5 minutes.

Ladle the recommended amount of waffle batter onto the iron according to the manufacturer’s recommendations. Close iron top and cook until the waffle is golden on both sides and is easily removed from iron.

I think this is the first recipe that I’ve been really disappointed with. I found the recipe at Kevin & Amanda, and her picture makes the waffles look massive – nice, thick, fluffy waffles and mine were just sort of…not. It didn’t matter how full I filled the waffle iron, the batter would pour out the sides of the waffle iron and I’d still end up with waffles that had low spots in them, as though they didn’t have enough batter. It was peculiar. In terms of taste the waffles were still great, but I was disappointed with appearance.

To the recipes credit I had to use sour milk since I didn’t have buttermilk, which may have made a significant difference. I also don’t think my waffle iron is necessarily a Belgium waffle iron, so it might not have the capacity to make a tall waffle, but even so it still shouldn’t have given me a spot on each waffle that continually looked like there wasn’t enough batter!

I’ll give this recipe a second chance though, and try again when I actually have buttermilk on hand. The taste was good and all, but I want to make sure the waffle actually fills up the iron for optimal waffle consumption!

Will I make this again? Yes, one more try!

swap sidebar

 

One thought on “Recipe #25: Cinnamon Nutmeg Waffles

  1. Shannon says:

    I love waffles! I was reading The Sweet By and By in the picture of me at the beach. I really like it so far. I’m not quite done with it yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

