Recipe #40: Chicken, Bacon, Avocado Quesadillas

This recipe contains three of my most favorite things in the food world. I’ve had this recipe bookmarked for quite a few months, I just never had the right ingredients on hand, or I’d remember that I wanted to try it after I’d already taken something else out for supper. Troubling, I know.

Ingredients

  • 4 medium-sized flour tortilla shells
  • 1 lb chicken, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup scallions, diced
  • 8 strips of bacon, cooked & crumbled
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • mild cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 2 tbsp butter

Preparation Instructions

Prepare the bacon in whichever way tickles your fancy. Add 1/2 tbsp bacon drippings to a skillet over medium heat. Add the scallions and saute about 2-3 mins until softened. Add the chicken in a single layer, season with salt and pepper, and cook for about 5 mins or until chicken is golden and cooked through, flipping just once during cooking. Remove the chicken and scallions to a plate and rinse out the skillet.

Add about 1/2 tbsp butter to the skillet over medium heat. When foamy, add a tortilla and swirl it around to get it nice and buttery. Layer one side of the tortilla with chicken, bacon, avocado, and a little cheese. Use tongs to flip the other half of the tortilla over and press down. Cook the tortilla for about 1-2 mins on each side or until golden brown and crispy. Repeat with the rest of the tortillas, adding a little more butter for each tortilla as needed.

For possibly the first time ever I actually had all the ingredients a recipe called for and get this, I followed the recipe! Almost. My avocados were definitely not ripe enough so for the sake of not wanting to have crunchy avocados in my quesadilla I threw the cut up avocado pieces into the frying pan with the chicken, once the chicken was cooked, just to soften them up a little.

This was a lovely combination of ingredients. I ate it by dipping each wedge into a little bit of sour cream. Avocados always make me think of California for some reason, so I ate these while standing in the kitchen in a stream of sunlight, and pretended that I was somewhere else where there wasn’t still a layer of snow covering parts of my backyard.

Is this a repeat? Oh yes.

2 thoughts on “Recipe #40: Chicken, Bacon, Avocado Quesadillas

  1. Susie says:

    You NEED to come over and cook for me, these look amazing!

  2. [...] to my surprise the e-mail was from an editor at The Republic of Bacon saying that the Chicken, Bacon, Avocado Quesadilla recipe I posted a few weeks ago was being mentioned on their website in their collection of top [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

