Why I Love Birthdays

It seems to be the accepted norm to dread or dislike birthdays once you reach a certain age. I have always loved birthdays. I will admit that I had a hard time turning 19 – something about stepping into the real world and making independent decisions – but aside from that particular year I loved all birthdays before and since. I’m a firm believer in birthday weeks and have always enjoyed finding various activities to occupy the days leading up to and following my birthday. Maybe someday I’ll be dragging my heels, but today I am fully embracing turning 29 (for the first time!).

So here we have it, a list of why I love my birthday…

1. Facebook wishes. Need I say more? Logging in to see a wealth of notifications from friends and family wishing me well on my big day? An easy way to plaster a smile on my face.

2. My class makes me feel loved. Almost everyone of them could tell you that today was my birthday and the majority could even tell you my age. They walked in this morning saying Happy Birthday and walked out this afternoon wishing me well a second time.

photo 2(1)

3. Presents. I will openly admit that I love receiving gifts on special occasions, big or small.

photo 1

4. Family. Age nor location has kept my extended family from gathering together to celebrate my birthday, whether it be the day of, or a few days after. This is a great benefit of having the majority of my aunts and uncles, and grandparents all live within a 20 mile radius of each other.

5. Text Messages. Technology has made birthdays just that much more fun.

photo 1

6. Snacks. If my birthday falls on a school day you can guarantee there will be some kind of snack to share. These owl cupcakes were made by the Kindergarten class.

photo 2

7. Birthday Supper. Location keeps me from eating out too often, so I love a special occasion to get together with friends and/or family and have someone else make (well, and pay for) my supper.

8. I can eat as much cake as I want to. Because this Kindergartner said I was allowed.

photo 3

===========================================================

lwf2014This post is part of a list-making project called Lists With Friends 2014, an effort to document the year in lists of all types.

 

2 thoughts on “Why I Love Birthdays

  1. Love the texting screenshot! And all the fun love from the kids at school!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

