What I Love About Where I Live

I’ve used some of my time off this past week to tackle some house projects that have been sitting on my to do list for awhile. It’s nice to look at some different spaces in my house that have been bothering me for awhile and now see how nice they look.

IMG_9383I love all the white in this kitchen. As someone who loves colour it really surprises me how much I love all of the white. What I love though is the way that the white makes any little bit of colour really pop.

 IMG_5230 I love the tile backsplash and this new owl vase I bought on sale at Michaels. I have plenty of drawer space that I don’t need to have any utensils on the counter, but I loved this vase too much to not give it an important place on the counter.

IMG_9399I love this clock that I bought in Saskatoon this week. It’s made by Umbra, makers of all things really cool. I also love the colour of this old washstand, which came from my Uncle Noah’s house after he passed away. I love that some of the furniture in my house has been made modern, while still having some old charm.

IMG_9394This little corner is off of the kitchen and used to be the original entrance into the house. The closet has been turned into a pantry, and this was a perfect spot for this cabinet to house my Pyrex. I love Pyrex, and also, Ikea!

IMG_9402I love that this washstand finally got painted this week, although now I don’t love the colour. I’m wishing I had painted it dark grey, so there is still a chance it will get repainted again. I love that this piece came from my Grandma’s. I also love that poster!

IMG_9396I love this saying above my bed. I also love my quilt. I have material to make a new orange and grey quilt, but this one is the first quilt I ever made and I’m a little partial to it. I also love this very comfortable bed, especially on a week when I get to sleep in.

IMG_5233I’ve shared a photo similiar to this on Facebook and Instagram several times, but that is because I absolutely love my living room. I love how incredibly comfortable that couch is, even if it doesn’t totally go with the rest of the room. I love that I got it for free. I love the beadboard on the back of those cupboards. I love the Ikea lamps, and I love that I took all of the pictures in those frames.

IMG_5234I love this old dresser and that it came from my Mom and Dad’s. I love the warm yellow in this otherwise cool coloured house. I love my nesting dolls.

IMG_5235I love this old chair that came from an old friend of Dad’s, and that the new fabric makes it feel modern. I love that I could repurpose that old desk into a place for my computer. I’d like to find a low profile monitor so I could close the lid. The hunt for that continues. I love the cross stitch on the wall tat was made by my Aunt Susie. She gave away cross stitch pictures when her great nieces and nephews were married. She passed away before I could get married, but it was understood that when the time came, this picture was to be mine. I love that it’s got such a special place to hang.

IMG_9409I love that my sewing machine is finally out for the first time in…a year? I love that so many of the framed items were either made by me or cards sent to me. That wheat picture? Something I made in printmaking my first or second year of university. And again, I love Ikea.

IMG_9407I love that this space is clean and usable, even if it’s been a long time since I’ve sat down to do anything. I love that it’s organized and sort of hope that by being organized it might inspire me to do something with it? I love that yellow frame.

===========================================================

lwf2014This post is part of a list-making project called Lists With Friends 2014, an effort to document the year in lists of all types.

8 thoughts on “What I Love About Where I Live

  1. Susanna says:

    You know what I’d love?
    Come for a visit… :)

  2. edillow says:

    Wow! I super-love your kitchen, especially!

  3. Steph R says:

    I love your home! It’s so charming and has character. I really love your kitchen too :)

  4. maryjo1997 says:

    Nadine – you have such a lovely home!
    Lots of great pieces that I would love to have :)

  5. jill says:

    Beautiful! It’s amazing to think how far all this has come in such a short time ;)

  6. you have got some really great spaces and some really great pieces of furniture!! love all of it and that yellow tv cabinet too!! and your super organized crafting spaces!!!

  7. Your house is so awesome! You are like the painted furniture queen!!!! I have some things I want to try and paint when it warms up – I’m looking here for inspiration!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

