Recipe #2: Chicken Pot Pie Soup

No questions about it, this soup was amazing. I didn’t have any crackers to add to it when I ate it, but if I did I think it would have tasted exactly like chicken pot pie. I found the recipe at Gina’s Skinny Taste, but modified it based on what I had on hand, as usual. I was worried that it would make so much that I’d be eating soup for weeks, but it was the perfect size soup. I ate some for supper last night, had some for breakfast this morning, froze some to take to work, and I have enough left to have for supper yet tonight. Just right.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup flour or 2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 2 cups water
  • 4 cups fat free milk
  • 1 large celery stalk, chopped
  • 1/2 medium chopped onion
  • 8 oz sliced baby portabella mushrooms
  • 2 chicken bouillons or 3 tbsp chicken soup base
  • fresh ground pepper
  • pinch of thyme
  • 10 oz frozen classic mixed vegetables (peas, carrots, green beans, corn)
  • 2 potatoes, peeled and cubed small
  • 16 oz cooked chicken breast, diced small
  • salt

Preparation Instructions

Create a slurry by combining 1/2 cup of the cold water with flour in a medium bowl and whisk until well blended. Set aside.

Pour remaining water and milk into a large pot and slowly bring to a boil. Add celery, onion, mushrooms, chicken bullion, thyme, fresh pepper, frozen vegetables and return to a boil. Partially cover and simmer on low until vegetables are soft, about 20 minutes. Remove lid, add potatoes and cook until soft, about 5 minutes. Add chicken, and slowly whisk in slurry, stirring well as you add. Cook another 2-3 minutes, until soup thickens, adjust salt and pepper to taste and serve.

I used cornstarch instead of flour to thicken, and only two chicken breasts instead of three because I wanted this to still be soup and not stew once it had thickened. I didn’t measure the pepper of course and added too much as it gives that slow throat burn feeling after you’ve finished the bowl. I didn’t add potatoes because I don’t like them, left out the thyme and mushrooms because I didn’t have any, and never added any extra salt because the chicken soup base I used was salty enough on its own.

Will I make this again? Absolutely!

swap

2 thoughts on “Recipe #2: Chicken Pot Pie Soup

  1. randi says:

    sounds really good! i copied it and put it in my recipe folder. 🙂

  2. eileen says:

    this sounds wonderful! have to try this soon. thanks for sharing and have a great day

Leave a Reply

