Recipe #3: Banana Bread

It should be noted right off the bat that there was no nice way to photograph this particular banana bread. The recipe called for it to be baked in a bundt pan, which is why I chose this recipe in the first place, but mine rose well beyond the limit of the bundt pan during baking. I didn’t have any baking powder, so I found online that I could use a combination of baking soda and cream of tartar to replace the baking powder, so I blame this substitution for how giant this banana bread grew in the oven.

That being said, it still tastes really good. It has that banana bread taste, while looking a lot like normal white bread when cut. In hindsight I’m also not entirely sure that the cake pan I used could be specifically classified as a bundt pan either, seems a little too tall. This is another Pioneer Woman recipe and for once, with the exception of the baking powder substitution, I actually followed the recipe! No, that’s a lie. I only had 3/4 c. of sour cream, so I mixed actual cream with vinegar and made my own sour cream.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup margarine
  • 1-½ cup + 2 TBSP Sugar
  • 3 whole Eggs
  • 1-½ cup Mashed Ripe Bananas
  • 4 cups + 2 TBSP Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1-½ teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1-½ cup Sour Cream

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour bundt pan.

Cream butter and sugar together. Add eggs one at a time, beating for a few seconds after each addition. Add mashed bananas and beat. Add dry ingredients and sour cream alternately to the mixing bowl. Beat well until all combined.

Pour into bundt pan and bake for 1 hour 10 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Invert on a cooling rack and allow cake to cool slightly before slicing and serving with softened butter.

Will I try this again? Yes, but I will likely just make it in a normal loaf pan in the future, or at least make sure I have baking powder on hand before I try it again!

Leave a Reply

