Recipe #4: Chunky Monkey Banana Muffins

The name is what drew me to this recipe that I found at Tasty Kitchen. I got up Saturday morning with the intention of spending the afternoon in the kitchen using up the plethora of bananas frozen in the freezer, so I searched for banana recipes until I found two that used up the number of bananas I had on hand. I have a tried and true banana muffin recipe that I normally turn to, but in my quest to try 100 new recipes this year I figured I had better shake up even the things I make all the time.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup White Sugar
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon Vanilla
  • 4 whole Bananas, Mashed
  • ¾ cups Buttermilk or regular Milk
  • 1 cup Margarine, Melted
  • 3 cups Flour
  • 2 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 2 Tablespoons Cinnamon
  • 1 cup Coconut Sweetened, Shredded
  • 1 cup Chocolate Chips

Preparation Instructions

Cream together sugar & wet ingredients. Mix in dry ingredients. Fold in coconut and chocolate chips.

Place 2 scoops/spoons of batter into lined muffin tins.

Bake at 350° for about 20 minutes.

These muffins are good. I didn’t have coconut on hand or else I would have added it. I had thought about substituting the coconut with some pecans that were also lurking in the freezer but the school is nut free and these muffins are supposed to be for school lunches. The only thing I’m not a huge fan of is the cinnamon. The recipes calls for 2 tbsp, which I thought was maybe a typo but put 2 tbsp in anyway. I’m not a huge fan of cinnamon in the first place so the cinnamon flavour in these muffins is pretty strong. The next time I use this recipe I will either eliminate or cut back on the cinnamon.

Will I use this recipe again? Maybe. They taste good, but I’m just not sure about the cinnamon. I will likely give it a second chance when I have some coconut to add and try it with coconut, but without cinnamon.

One thought on “Recipe #4: Chunky Monkey Banana Muffins

  1. Teresa Maier says:

    I am pretty sure the tried and true recipe you speak of I use every two weeks or so (did you submit it to the Gronlid Yearbook Recipe book years back?) What to do, what to do? Do I continue to use the tried and true recipe or try your new one? lol

Leave a Reply

