Butterfly Picture

It’s been years since I first saw this idea for a butterfly picture made with scrapbook punches, and it’s been sitting in my bookmarks for just as long. I bought the butterfly punches last year back before summer, and I’ve had the frame since before Christmas. It’s just taken the course of two years to pull everything together and finally make it happen. Now that I look at the original I had bookmarked though I see that hers had way more butterflies, but oh well, I like how mine turned out.

I have no idea why it took me so long to pull this together since actually putting it together took me less than a half hour. I used my Martha Stewart punch for the small butterflies and my Stampin Up punch for the large butterflies, and then a mix of scrapbooking scraps I had. It’s hanging up in my bathroom where it makes me happy in the morning.

I originally had it hanging on the opposite wall in the bathroom and for the first time ever, one of those 3M picture hangers actually fell off the wall! I was watching TV when I heard this huge crash and the picture was on the floor, stuff was knocked off the back of the toilet, yet the only noticeable damage was to the top part of the frame where this is just a bit of a dent. Upon further investigation I realized that I had stuck the 3M hanger to a spot on the wall that had been filled to cover a hole and never painted over, so it was like sticking the 3M hanger to chalk.

On Friday Jena was here and saw my picture. When I told her I made it she said, “What! I want one!” So we picked up a frame and it came together yesterday in less than 15 minutes. Seriously, why did it take me two years to make this?

Another project from the list can be marked complete!

5 thoughts on “Butterfly Picture

  1. I want one with elephants. Just sayin’. You made one for Jena. :p

    They look really cute!

    • nadineabean says:

      Oh my god, I want one with elephants! Have you ever seen an elephant punch?

      [It’s mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter.]

  2. Date Girl says:

    That is so cute! It looks like something you’d buy at the store. Isn’t it such a great feeling to cross something off that project list? I love being able to do it!

  3. Nicole says:

    I made one for my mom a few years ago! But I love the way you used the two sizes, I need to do another like that!! šŸ™‚ Nice work!!

  4. Amber says:

    I am so glad to know you. I think you are one of the neatest people in the world, and your crafts are amazing.

Leave a Reply

