Recipe #5: Big Chocolate Chip Cookies

First of all, I don’t know why the word “big” is used in the name of these cookies, because there was really nothing big about them size wise. Chocolate chip cookies are my weakness and I was rather surprised to find that I’d never tried this recipe before since it came out of a cookbook I’ve had for years. I’m a messy baker and the pages of my cookbooks are usually smeared with something after I’ve tried a recipe, and this page was still very white.

This cookie recipe comes from Veselii Cooking, a cookbook produced by the local Ukranian dance school. I’ve had this cookbook since 2003 or 2004 and it’s one that I reach for frequently. Veselii is Ukranian for happy, and this was definitely a happy recipe. It would make around 3 dozen cookies had I not indulged on the cookie dough.

Ingredients

  • 1 c. margarine
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 c. brown sugar
  • 3/4 c. white sugar
  • 1/2 c. cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 c. flour
  • 1 1/2 c. chocolate chips

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350. Cream together margarine and sugars. Add eggs and beat until light and fluffy. Beat in cocoa until mixture is smooth, then add vanilla. Mix dry ingredients with wet ingredients. Stir in chocolate chips. Drop onto an ungreased baking sheet. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.

These cookies had a crisp, chewy outside, but were soft and moist on the inside. Exactly the way I like my chocolate chip cookies! I made these to have for snacks at my birthday supper on Friday night, though I’m not positive they are going to last until Friday night!

Will this be a repeat recipe? I’ve already got the page marked with a star for future use!

3 thoughts on “Recipe #5: Big Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Vanessa V says:

    Those look so good! I’m impressed with your blog. I rarely look at cookbooks now that I’ve discovered food blogs

    • nadineabean says:

      I’m the same way Vanessa! Except that I see like a million things I want to try because of the photos that always go with it. Cookbooks without pictures are good because I usually don’t realize how good something looks!

  2. Date Girl says:

    mmhmm I love chewy cookies. I think I’m going to have to give these a try!

Leave a Reply

