Recipe #6: Stuffed Mushroom Caps

The theme for my birthday was appetizers and I decided I wanted to try making stuffed mushroom caps. They are one of my favorite appetizers to order anytime we eat at a restaurant, so it seemed like it was time to try making them myself. I looked at a few different recipes, but none had exactly what I wanted, or had ingredients that I didn’t have, so I decided to make my own recipe based on what I had on hand. I was expecting disaster, but they were amazing!

Ingredients

  • 2 pkgs. large button mushrooms
  • 1 pkg. cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 c. Miracle Whip
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 1 tsp. chopped garlic
  • 1/4 c. bacon, chopped
  • 1 c. marble cheese, grated

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350. Carefully pull stems out of mushrooms and set aside. Mix cream cheese, Miracle whip, garlic and your chopped ingredients together. Finely chop half of the stems and add to your cream cheese mixture. Lastly mix in your grated cheese. Using a spoon or cookie scoop, scoop your mixture into the mushroom caps and place filled mushroom caps on a cookie sheet or baking tray. Bake for 20-25 minutes at 350.

I have to say that I outdid myself. Without a doubt this was the best recipe I’ve ever come up with. There were only four mushroom caps left over at the end of my birthday party and I ate them the next day and they were still delicious!

One thought on “Recipe #6: Stuffed Mushroom Caps

  1. Vanessa says:

    mmmmmm mushroom caps. My favorite appi along side mozza sticks mmmmm

Leave a Reply

