Recipe #8: Cream of Broccoli Soup

I love soup, but I have a special weakness for Cream of Broccoli. I am always on the hunt for a new recipe, although realistically I could make this without any recipe at all. Winter is a perfect time for soup, and a sale at Walmart on a huge bag of broccoli flowerettes. $3.49 for a HUGE bag of broccoli was too good of a deal to pass up.

I forgot to take a picture of this one until I was putting the last bit of leftovers in a container for work, so forgive the turquoise Tuppperware!

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 8 cups broccoli florets
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups milk
  • ground black pepper to taste

Preparation

Melt 2 tablespoons butter in medium sized stock pot, and saute onion and celery until tender. Add broccoli and broth, cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Pour the soup into a blender, filling the pitcher no more than halfway full. Hold down the lid of the blender with a folded kitchen towel, and carefully start the blender, using a few quick pulses to get the soup moving before leaving it on to puree. Puree in batches until smooth and pour into a clean pot. Alternately, you can use a stick blender and puree the soup right in the cooking pot. In small saucepan, over medium-heat melt 3 tablespoons butter, stir in flour and add milk. Stir until thick and bubbly, and add to soup. Season with pepper and serve.

I don’t have a blender or a potato masher so I used a big flipper and just tried to squish things. Not effective at all. I ate some, went to a friend’s house, and when I came home that night I decided to do small batches of the soup at a time with my Bullet. Cream of broccoli soup needs to be creamy, not chunky and I should have done this right off the bat!

Will I make it again? Yes! But with way more cheese next time!

Leave a Reply

