The Good and The Bad

Painting class is going well and I now proudly have two finished pieces of art hanging on my fridge, though now that I say that I just realized that I have yet to sign either of them and that to me is the final step to finishing my paintings.

I’m enjoying the process of seeing how things go from bad to good as more paint gets added. Because I teach kids art I am so relating now to the comments they make in class about feeling like their picture is ugly or being frustrated that it’s not turning out like everyone else. I SO get it now. There have been a few times in painting class where our art teacher has shown me what to do and I’ve looked at her, handed her my paintbrush and said, “Help!”

I hated this picture at the end of class when we first started it. The purple fog had become overpowering and I kept making Jimi Hendrix “Purple Haze” references. I thought that it was going to be a complete disaster and that I may as well just burn it and start over.

Um..whoa. How did this happen? We added layers and layers and layers of paint at our next class and I continued to think this was a hideous picture. Something clicked when I added the trees in the foreground though. As soon as I painted the trunks in I started to shift my view of the picture and started to see some dimension in it. I added on the branches, and finally the leaves and suddenly I was like, whoa, this is cool. The last step was the add the flowers and the next thing I knew I was hanging this up with the rest of the finished pictures and standing back to enjoy what I’d made.

I think taking this class will speak volumes to how I operate my own art classroom. The kids know I love it, but I think it’s important for them to know that I don’t always love what I make and that there definitely comes a time where you need to tell yourself to push through to the end because the final product is likely going to be nothing like what you expected. I can’t wait to start painting with them.

2 thoughts on “The Good and The Bad

  1. Date Girl says:

    Great job! I love the dimensions. I’m always like that when I paint, and I confess that I’ve abandoned projects because I hated the way they looked. It is so important to push through and watch it take shape. Absolutely beautiful.

  2. Susie says:

    I think this is really beautiful, Nadine! I can’t see any “imperfections” in it that you may see, you’re really talented!

Leave a Reply

