Recipe #10: Bacon Cheeseburger Chicken

With bacon in the title I knew as soon as I found this recipe at Kevin & Amanda that I’d be trying it out for sure. Bacon, chicken, and cheese? How can you go wrong! Upon making this I came to the conclusion that there is no real nice or easy way to photograph this sort of creation that properly depicts just how delicious it was.

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 6 skinless, boneless chicken breasts, split
  • 1/4 cup teriyaki sauce
  • 1/2 cup Ranch dressing
  • 1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 lb bacon (or bacon bits)

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). In a large skillet, heat oil & butter over medium-high heat. Add chicken breasts, and saute 4 to 5 minutes each side, until lightly browned. Place browned chicken breasts in a 9×13 inch baking dish. Cover with teriyaki sauce and dressing. Sprinkle with cheese and top with bacon bits. Bake for 25 to 35 minutes, or until chicken is no longer pink and juices run clear.

Because I can never follow a recipe I made a few modifications. We didn’t have teriyaki sauce like I thought we did, so I decided I’d use italian salad dressing instead. This was a fine replacement, but I poured it over top of the chicken breasts, instead of around, so when I went to pour the ranch dressing on top of the chicken breasts, it just slid right off because of the oils in the italian dressing. Which meant that all of my chicken toppings kind of just fell off. It was still good, but not quite how good it should have been!

The original recipe calls to cook up some bacon and then chop it up, but I hate cooking bacon, despite my love of eating it. The splatter of hot oil scares me. I have a bag of real bacon bits in the fridge, so I used that. Saved me some time and some bacon frying fear.

Will this be a repeat recipe? It has bacon, so of course!

One thought on “Recipe #10: Bacon Cheeseburger Chicken

  1. Ms. R says:

    It was delish!

Leave a Reply

