Recipe #11: Hot Artichoke & Leek Dip

This is another recipe that I made for my birthday. I love spinach and artichoke dip as an appetizer when I go out for supper, so I tried to find a recipe to try it myself. My Aunty Karen gave me a new cookbook for my birthday made by The Breast Friends, a Saskatchewan group that produced a few cookbooks to raise money for breast cancer research, funding, etc. I have cookbook #3, Breast Wishes for Breast Friends and came upon this recipe for hot artichoke and leek dip. I’m not even sure what a leek is and I was hoping for something with spinach, but I thought I’d try it anyway.

I baked it in the oven in one of my new to me, old to the world coloured Pyrex bowls that my roommate Carol had given to me for Christmas. At the end of my birthday party there was still a lot left and I thought that maybe it hadn’t been much of a hit, but I took it to my friend Tyler’s house the next night for games night and it was inhaled within minutes, so I think it was a success after all!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 package leek soup mix
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 – 398mL can artichoke hearts, drained
  • 1 1/2 cups Mozzarella cheese, grated

Preparation Instructions

Mix all ingredients together and place in shallow round or square baking dish. Bake at 350 F for 20-25 minutes or until well heated. Serve with crackers or crusty bread.

I bought my groceries at Walmart and I couldn’t find a can of artichoke hearts the size the recipe calls for, so I bought two small jars of artichoke hearts in oil. In hindsight I should have bought three because there were many bites where you were having only cream cheese and cheese but no artichoke, and to me the artichoke is the best part! The recipe didn’t call to chop the artichoke hearts into smaller pieces, so I didn’t, because I thought they’d break apart as the dip baked, but I was wrong to a point. They softened and broke apart some, but there were still times where your bite would be a whole artichoke heart! It was really yummy none the less and the addition of the leek soup mix was really good! When I make this again though I think I’ll throw in a package of frozen spinach just to add some more substance to the dip.

Will I make this again? I’ve already been told that I’m welcome to bring this to every game night we ever have from now on!

One thought on “Recipe #11: Hot Artichoke & Leek Dip

  1. Date Girl says:

    that sounds delicious and pretty easy to make! I might have to give this a try at the next party I go to.

Leave a Reply

