Recipe #12: Fluffy French Toast

Breakfast and brunch are definitely my favorite meal of the day, although the meal I probably cook the least often. Nice breakfast or brunch is typically reserved for the weekends when I have enough time to do the cooking, enjoy eating it and then still be able to clean up. Of course the nice thing about breakfast food is that you can always have it during other meals in the day.

Elliot: So, are you guys doing something special for your anniversary tonight?
Turk: You know what would be great?
Carla: Here we go.
Turk: “Brinner”.
Elliot: What-er?
Carla: Breakfast for dinner. He’s obsessed with it.
Turk: I just don’t see what wrong with having a nice glass of wine with a pancake.

-Scrubs

I’ve had this recipe bookmarked for awhile and decided to make it for supper one night for myself and my roommate.  I love pancakes and I love french toast so this seemed like a good thing to try!

Ingredients

  • 2 Tablespoons Vegetable Oil
  • 1 cup Flour
  • 1 cup Milk
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 1-¾ teaspoon Baking Powder
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Sugar
  • ⅛ teaspoons Ground Cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • ½ teaspoons Maple Flavoring (Optional, See Note Below)
  • 10 slices Bread, Your Choice

Preparation Instructions

Heat a skillet over medium-high heat and brush on just enough vegetable oil to coat the entire skillet. Whisk together all the dry ingredients, and in a separate bowl, mix together all the wet ingredients. Combine the wet and dry ingredients; stir until just combined. Pour the batter into an 8×8 square baking dish and dip single pieces of bread into the batter, flipping to coat both sides. Place immediately on the hot skillet. Flip when browned and brown the other side.

It tasted…interesting. It wasn’t quite a pancake, and it wasn’t quite french toast either, but whatever it was, it was good! I didn’t have any maple flavouring so I just used extra vanilla. I used homemade bread that was quite heavy so the batter didn’t really soak in. I think the best kind of bread would be light store bought bread so that the batter could really soak in.

Will I try this again? Yes, but probably without the cinnamon.

One thought on “Recipe #12: Fluffy French Toast

  1. Ooolala! This recipe made very good French toast; I made a very small batch and ate it with sliced strawberries and sugar. My only beef is the amount of cinnamon; I personally think a whole teaspoon is a little bit much. Other than that, wonderful! Thank you for sharing this recipe!

Leave a Reply

