Recipe #13: Daddy’s Special Waffles

The morning after I made fluffy french toast for supper I got up and made waffles for breakfast. I love waffles. Everytime I go home I make a special request to my mom that we have waffles for breakfast on Sunday morning. Growing up I remember coming home from church on Sundays and Mom making waffles while we watched Teddy Ruxpin on TV. The tradition still sticks somewhat as it’s usually a Sunday morning when I decide it would be a good time for waffles. Just because these waffles have “Daddy” in the title, doesn’t mean they are MY daddy’s special waffles.

I normally use the same waffle recipe that Mom uses, but of course if I’m trying to make 100 new recipes this year I’ve got to try new things, even in place of old favorites. This waffle recipe from Tasty Kitchen had lots of good reviews, so I decided to give it a try.

Instructions

  • 1-½ cup All-purpose Flour
  • 1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
  • ½ teaspoons Kosher Salt
  • 4 Tablespoons Unsalted Butter, Melted But Not Hot
  • 2 whole Large Eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon Granulated Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1-¼ cup Milk

Preparation Instructions

Pour the melted butter into a medium mixing bowl. Whisk the eggs, one at a time, until thoroughly beaten.  Be sure the melted butter is not too hot, we don’t want the eggs to cook.  Whisk in the sugar and vanilla. Drizzle in the milk and whisk until combined.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet mixture and stir to combine, but don’t over beat.  Set aside for a few minutes to prep the waffle iron. Fill your waffle iron and enjoy!

The waffles turned out really light. They came out of the waffle iron with a nice golden colour and they tasted delicious! A new favorite for sure – it made the perfect amount of waffles too – enough for breakfast plus a few left over for breakfast tomorrow before work, a total of 8 round waffles.

Waffles in our family aren’t waffles though without making white sauce to go along with them. In fact as much as I love waffles, I don’t really even like waffles without the white sauce. It’s a fairly Mennonite thing though I think as most people I know who are familiar with white sauce and waffles come from a German Mennonite background just like me. If you’re going to make waffles though, you’ve got to serve it with this sauce!

White Sauce

Ingredients

  • 3 tbsp. margarine
  • 2 tbsp. cornstarch
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Preparation Instructions

Combine margarine and cornstarch over low heat to form a paste.  Whisk in 2 cups of milk and 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup of sugar. Bring to a low boil over medium heat, stirring constantly or the mixture will burn. Once it boils remove from heat and stir in the vanilla. Serve while warm over your waffles!

One thought on “Recipe #13: Daddy’s Special Waffles

  1. Jesse says:

    I need an explanation of this sauce! Is it like icing? Like a donut glaze?

Leave a Reply

