Recipe #14: Honey Glazed Drumsticks

I eat a lot of chicken, which is surprising actually since I found out in the last year or so that I’m actually allergic to it. I’ve never noticed a severe reaction, nor have I really paid enough attention to how I feel after eating it to notice if anything is wrong. That being said, I haven’t stopped eating it either.

I was cleaning out the freezer the other day and found a package of drumsticks and decided to make that for supper. I searched Tasty Kitchen for drumstick recipes and found Honey Glazed Drumsticks. I actually had all of the ingredients except for the cajun seasoning, which was alright with me. I had a bad experience with something that was supposed to be “cajun” and now I can’t hardly even stomach the smell of it. I used some Everday Style Smoky BBQ rub instead. I also completely forgot about the soya sauce.

Ingredients

  • ½ cups Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Cajun Seasoning
  • 3 pounds Chicken Drumsticks, Skin Removed
  • ½ cups Margarine, Melted, Divided Use
  • ¼ cups Packed Brown Sugar
  • ¼ cups Honey
  • ¼ cups Lemon Juice
  • 1 Tablespoon Soya Sauce

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a bowl, mix flour with Cajun seasoning. Add chicken pieces and shake until well coated. Pour 4 Tablespoons of melted margarine into a 9″ x 13″ baking dish. Place chicken in pan, turning once to coat. Bake for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, mix brown sugar, honey, lemon juice, soy sauce, and remaining butter. After 30 minutes, pour the sauce over chicken. Bake 45 minutes longer, until chicken is tender, basting several times with pan drippings.

This turned out really good. So good in fact that I was finishing up the last bites when I realized that I had forgotten to take a picture. The chicken has that nice honey/brown sugar sweetness, while the lemon gives it a bit of tangy flavour. I shared the recipe with my mom the same night and she has since made it too and said it was a success for her and dad.

Is this going to be a repeat? Definitely. It was a quick, low maintenance recipe. I need to make it again just to get a picture!

 

2 thoughts on “Recipe #14: Honey Glazed Drumsticks

  1. Colleen Gurney says:

    Hey, where is the picture???? You are slipping young lady…

  2. Colleen Gurney says:

    Just read the rest of the blog…..get cookin’ 😉

Leave a Reply

