Recipe #16: Steph’s Slow Cooked BBQ Roast

I love pulled pork sandwiches. Anytime we go out for supper to Original Joes I always get the pulled pork sandwich. I’ve been on the quest to find a good recipe myself, but typically all I ever used was just a bottle of BBQ sauce on a roast that I cooked all day in the slow cooker.  That is until I found my friend Steph’s recipe, that she uses with either pork roast or a beef roast.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 1 cup bbq sauce
  • 1 cup celery
  • 2 tbsp vinegar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup onion
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp salt

Preparation Instructions

Put roast in slow cooker then add all of the above ingredients to it. Cook all day. Every few hours pull the meat apart with 2 forks as it cooks. Serve with buns.

I made this for the first time while I was in Calgary and it was so good that my sister in law Michelle exclaimed, “I want to swim in a hot tub full of this pulled pork!”It was a huge hit and incredibly easy to make. The only thing I changed was the amount of water I added to the roast. Because my pork roast was frozen solid I didn’t add any of the water.

Will I make this again? Absolutely, I’ve already made it twice!

Leave a Reply

