Recipe #17: Easy Chicken & Broccoli Divan

Chicken, broccoli and cream soup? Yes please! I found this recipe in an advertisement in Best Health magazine and I liked that it said easy. I’ve made chicken and broccoli divan before but this one was seriously the easiest one I’ve ever made.

Ingredient

  • 3 cups hot cooked broccoli florets
  • 2 cups cubed, cooked, skinless chicken breast
  • 1 can Campbells Condensed Low Fat Cream of Broccoli Soup
  • 1/3 cup 1% milk
  • 1/2 cup shredded light Cheddar cheese
  • 2 tbsp dry bread crumbs
  • 1 tsp butter or margarine, melted

Preparation Instructions

Arrange broccoli and chicken in 1.5 qt (1.5 L) baking dish. Pour mixture of soup and milk over broccoli and chicken. Sprinkle with cheese. Top with mixture of bread crumbs and butter. Bake at 425°F (220°C) until heated through – about 25 minutes.

This recipe was fast. I put two chicken breasts on to boil for 30 minutes while I was doing other things around the house. I also used frozen broccoli florets that I steamed in the microwave in 5 minutes. I stirred everything together and it was in the oven in no time. The recipe doesn’t call for salt, but in retrospect I definitely should have added in some salt and pepper as the recipe came out of the oven a little flavorless. I also left out the bread crumbs and butter because I didn’t have any bread crumbs, so in hindsite that probably had an effect on the taste too. It was still good! I remembered after I had finished eating it that the original recipe had said to serve with fusilli and I forgot that too. Reading recipes isn’t my strong suit.

Am I going to make this again? Yes, but with more salt!

Leave a Reply

