Recipe #18 & #19:Chicken Cordon Bleu & Creamy Mashed Potatoes

Chicken Cordon Bleu ranks right up beside pulled pork as my favorite restaurant food. I’ve had a few “lazy” versions of Chicken Cordon Bleu, but this was the first time that I actually tried to make it like they do in restaurants. Let me say this, AMAZING. I was really worried that things weren’t going to turn out – the chicken wasn’t quite what I was looking for, we didn’t have any toothpicks, and I was pan frying it and I had no idea how long to cook it for. Quite honestly I thought I was going to kill one of us.

The picture doesn’t really do it justice since it’s covered in amazing gravy and hidden behind mashed potatoes (another new recipe!) The gravy does a good job of concealing it because without being able to find the toothpicks I had to use wooden skewers to keep the ham and cheese inside. Let’s just say the post fried version of the meal wasn’t very pretty. Thank God the recipe included gravy! Shane and Michelle were my food critiques the week I was in Calgary and Michelle claimed that this was better than any Chicken Cordon Bleu she’d ever had in a restaurant and I have to say that I agree with her. It was really amazing.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 3 slices Swiss cheese
  • 3 slices ham
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon chicken bouillon granules
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream

Preparation Instructions

Place a cheese and ham slice on each breast within 1/2 inch of the edges. Fold the tenderloin flap of the chicken breast over the filling and secure with toothpicks. Mix the flour and paprika in a small bowl, and coat the chicken on all sides. Heat the butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Cook the chicken until browned on all sides. Add the broth and bouillon. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer for 15 minutes, until chicken is no longer pink and juices run clear. Remove the toothpicks, and transfer the breasts to a warm platter. Blend the cornstarch with the cream in a small bowl, and whisk slowly into the skillet. Cook, stirring until thickened, and pour over the chicken. Serve warm.

Will I make this again? My mouth starts to water just thinking about it!

I’m not a potato person, a trait that most people who know me are familiar with. I can avoid potatoes quite easily, though mashed potatoes, especially with gravy, sometimes seem to sneak their way onto my plate. These are Pioneer Woman potatoes and I think they managed to sneak their way onto my thighs.

Creamy Mashed Potatoes

Ingredients

  • 5 pounds Russet Or Yukon Gold Potatoes
  • ¾ cups Butter
  • 1 package (8 Oz.) Cream Cheese, Softened
  • ½ cups (to 3/4 Cups) Half-and-Half
  • ½ teaspoons (to 1 Teaspoon) Lawry’s Seasoned Salt
  • ½ teaspoons (to 1 Teaspoon) Black Pepper

Preparation Instructions

Peel and cut the potatoes into pieces that are generally the same size. Bring a large pot of water to a simmer and add the potatoes. Bring to a boil and cook for 30 to 35 minutes.

Drain the potatoes in a large colander. When the potatoes have finished draining, place them back into the dry pot and put the pot on the stove. Mash the potatoes over low heat, allowing all the steam to escape, before adding in all the other ingredients.

Turn off the stove and add 1 ½ sticks of butter, an 8-ounce package of cream cheese and about ½ cup of half-and-half. Next, add about ½ teaspoon of Lawry’s Seasoning Salt and ½ a teaspoon of black pepper.

Stir well and place in a medium-sized baking dish. Throw a few pats of butter over the top of the potatoes and place them in a 350-degree oven and heat until butter is melted and potatoes are warmed through.

As I said, I’m not a potato person and I still ate these. They were a good pairing with the chicken. I wouldn’t go to the trouble of making this massive vat of potatoes just for myself, but if I was preparing a big supper for someone I would definitely try this recipe again. They really were nice and creamy! You can’t go wrong with cream cheese.

Will I make this again? Yes!

One thought on “Recipe #18 & #19:Chicken Cordon Bleu & Creamy Mashed Potatoes

  1. Date Girl says:

    Ok first you had me with swiss cheese and chicken. THEN you pull out a mashed potato recipe with cream cheese. OMG that sounds sinfully delicious!

Leave a Reply

