Book #1: Diary of a Whimpy Kid

One of my projects for the year was to read 12 new books – that’s one book a month. Well, it’s March and the only book I’ve officially finished during 2011 so far is Diary of a Whimpy Kid: The Ugly Truth. These books make me laugh out loud and there are times during reading period when I’ve been reading the series where I’ve made a big enough scene that the kids have stopped reading their own books just to stare at me.

The entire series is hilarious as can be seen in this excerpt, one that lead me to an outburst that disrupted my whole class:

Tyson is nice enough, and we like the same video games. But he pulls his pants all the way down when he uses the urinal, and I don’t know if I can ever get past that.

The book also includes sketches, which in themselves are just as funny as the written part of the book.

Although the books are meant for children, I love them as an adult. So much so that in order for me to read this book I had to put my name on a list of ten to fifteen students waiting to get their hands on it! In fact the list continues because today our librarian had to come remind me to bring the book back because there were more kids on the list waiting for it!

So far I’m about halfway through A Year of Reading (or something like that) and I finished reading Eat, Pray, Love but I started reading that back when school first started in September so I can hardly count that as one of my 12 new books considering it took me 6 months to read it!

One thought on “Book #1: Diary of a Whimpy Kid

  1. Lauren says:

    My husband just read the first one and he already bought the next few books in the series. He’s so much of a vampire/fantasy book guy that it surprises me immensely that he likes it. (I haven’t read them but I assume there are no vampires.) He said it’s a good book to read in between long books to kind of decompress.

Leave a Reply

