Recipe #21: Chicken Spaghetti

How did I ever cook anything before without the assistance of Pioneer Woman or Tasty Kitchen? I’m forever searching both to find new recipes. I’ve had this chicken spaghetti recipe from PW in mind since I first read about…back in oh….2007. This recipe also made it’s first appearance in my week ‘o cooking in Calgary. Can I just say that casseroles are really hard to photograph in a nice way while still maintaining that the food is indeed edible.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Cooked Chicken
  • 3 cups Dry Spaghetti, Broken Into Two Inch Pieces
  • 2 cans Cream Of Mushroom Soup
  • 2 cups Grated Sharp Cheddar Cheese
  • ¼ cups Finely Diced Green Pepper
  • ¼ cups Finely Diced Onion
  • 1 jar (4 Ounce) Diced Pimentos, Drained
  • 2 cups Reserved Chicken Broth From Pot
  • 1 teaspoon Lawry’s Seasoned Salt
  • ⅛ teaspoons (to 1/4 Teaspoon) Cayenne Pepper
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • 1 cup Additional Grated Sharp Cheddar Cheese

Preparation Instructions

Cook 1 cut up fryer and pick out the meat to make two cups. Cook spaghetti in same chicken broth until al dente. Do not overcook. When spaghetti is cooked, combine with remaining ingredients except additional 1 cup sharp cheddar.

Place mixture in casserole pan and top with remaining sharp cheddar. Cover and freeze up to six months, cover and refrigerate up to two days, or bake immediately: 350 degrees for 45 minutes until bubbly. (If the cheese on top starts to get too cooked, cover with foil).

I made changes to the recipe, because obviously it’s who I am, the most notable being the lack of pimentos…..because….well, what the hell is a pimento anyway? I also used chicken breast instead of a fryer chicken because that’s what I had available. I liked this. The only change I’d make in the future would be to actually measure the green pepper. I put green pepper in things and then remember when I start eating that I don’t really like green peppers. I wasn’t really paying attention to the recipe (shock!) when we cut up the pepper and in hindsight I have a feeling the entire pepper got put in the recipe, instead of just 1/4 cup. Oops.

Will I ever eat this again? Yes, likely the next time I cook a chicken.

Leave a Reply

