Recipe #22: Cheeseburger Quiche

I’m noticing that I really suck at following recipes, this time my issue being with my inability to actually measure anything. Well not anything, since I do measure some things, but in this case I really should have followed the amount of ground beef that the recipe actually called for. I might learn eventually! The original recipe even says to ensure that you are using a 9 inch DEEP DISH pie plate, but again, I don’t like to listen, it’s just not my nature.

My friend Janice told me about this recipe, and during the week of cooking in Calgary it was a big hit with Shane, which was good because although the recipe called for only one quiche, we ended up with two. I think I made this on day 2 and this was Shane’s favorite the entire week. In my mind and in Michelle’s every night the food seemed to keep getting better and better – I’d never felt such pressure to produce good food before.

Ingredients

  • 1 refrigerated pie crust (or make your own or use a frozen deep-dish pie shell)
  • 3/4 lb. ground beef
  • 2 plum tomatoes, seeded and chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup dill pickle relish
  • 1/2 cup crumbled cooked bacon
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 teaspoons prepared mustard
  • 1 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1-1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

Preparation Instructions

In a large skillet, cook beef over medium heat until no longer pink; drain. Stir in the tomatoes, onion, relish and bacon. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk the eggs, cream, milk, mustard, pepper sauce, salt and pepper. Set aside.

Unroll pie crust into a 9″ deep-dish pie plate (make sure it’s deep dish, otherwise, the mixture will not fit) and flute the edges. To make refrigerated pie crust fit into a deep-dish plate, roll it out a little bit more with a rolling pin. You can make your own pie crust or purchase frozen deep dish pie crusts; just make sure it’s completely thawed out. Transfer meat mixture into prepared crust. Pour egg mixture over the meat and use a fork to move the meat around, letting the egg mixture settle in between. Sprinkle with cheeses.

Bake at 375 degrees for 45-60 minutes or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean. If necessary, cover edges with foil during the last 15 minutes to prevent overbrowning. Let stand for 15 minutes before cutting.

Now obviously I missed the part about the whole DEEP DISH pie shell that was mentioned frequently because I ended up having to make two quiche using regular pie plates. This worked fine I guess, but it meant that each piece seemed very beefy, to me at least.

Will this grace my kitchen again? Yes, once I learn how to read instructions. I think it would be a good brunch dish!

Leave a Reply

