Recipe #23: Pig Cake

I also made a dessert to take to my Grandma and Grandpa’s on the night of the “Woohoo Nadine’s Home Family Supper.” The cake I did make is a bit surprising to me because I typically prefer chocolate cakes over anything else. I had two different chocolate cake recipes picked out, and it was while I was trying to decide between the two that I got the idea in my head to try a cake that called for fruit, specifically pineapple. I faintly remembered seeing a recipe on the Pioneer Woman for “Pig Cake” and that it had pineapple in it. I found the recipe and much to my surprise it called for pineapples and mandarin slices, two things that I conveniently already had on hand!

That’s where the “conveniently on hand” part of the recipe ended.

Ingredients

  • FOR THE CAKE:
  • 1 box  Yellow Cake Mix
  • 1/2 cup margarine
  • 1 can(14 Oz. Can) Mandarin Oranges, Drained, 1/2 Cup Juice Reserved
  • 4 whole Eggs
  • 1 teaspoonVanilla Extract
  • FOR THE TOPPING:
  • 1 package(4 Oz. Box) Vanilla Instant Pudding Mix
  • 1 can(20 Oz. Can) Crushed Pineapple, Juice Reserved
  • ½ cup Powdered Sugar
  • 4 ounces, fluid Frozen Whipped Topping (such As Cool Whip)
  • Extra Mandarin Orange Slices, For Garnish

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. For the cake, combine cake mix, margarine, 1/2 cup juice from the mandarin oranges, eggs, and vanilla. Beat for four minutes on medium-high. Add drained oranges and beat again until pieces are broken up and small. Pour batter into greased and floured 9 x 13 inch baking pan and bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until golden brown and set. Remove from oven and cool completely. If desired, turn out cake onto a large platter.

Once cake is cool, blend juice from drained pineapples with the vanilla pudding mix. Add powdered sugar and mix, then mix in whipped topping. Stir in drained pineapple. Spread on cooled cake and refrigerate several hours.

The first thing I needed to find was a yellow cake mix. Chocolate, marble, angel food, we had every kind it seemed but yellow. Eventually I found a lemon cake mix and decided that lemon would be close to a yellow cake mix, at least in colour! I got the cake all mixed up and in the oven, then I went on to searching for all of the frosting ingredients. First thing I needed to find? Vanilla pudding powder. Chocolate, pistachio, fudge, we had every kind it seemed but vanilla. Are we noticing a trend? In the end I went with a butterscotch pudding because I figured it just made more sense than using pistachio to turn my frosting green. After a few unintentional alterations to the recipe it was baked, cooled, frosted and chilling in the fridge.

I thought the name Pig Cake was a bit weird, so I googled the origin. It’s really not that exciting, but on the way to Grandma and Grandpa’s the cake was sitting on the seat beside me and I started to think that it looked a bit like a pig cake. The butterscotch pudding gave the Coop Whip a sort of brown/pink tint….a bit like canned flakes of ham mixed with mayo. It became a huge joke all night that the chunks we were eating? Actual pieces of ham.

The cake was a hit though and it passed the Dad test. My dad (although he’ll deny it) is a picky eater, and he went back for seconds. He’s my litmus test on whether things are acceptable or not!

Will we dine on Pig Cake again? Yes! Especially when I have all of the right ingredients on hand!

Leave a Reply

