Recipe #24: Jos’s Peanut Butter Rice Krispie Cake

I suck at Rice Krispie cake. It’s something about melting marshmallows, and keeping them creamy without making them absolutely rock hard. My Mom seems to have it mastered, I do not. That being said when my friend Joselyn posted on Facebook that she’d made Peanut Butter Rice Krispie Cake I thought it sounded like something I could handle…that and I hoped really hard that when she gave me the recipe it wouldn’t have any marshmallows in it. It didn’t.

Ingredients

  • 1 c. white sugar
  • 1 c. corn syrup
  • 1 c. peanut butter
  • 6 c. Rice Krispies
  • 3/4 c. chocolate chips
  • 3/4 c. peanut butter chips

Preparation Instructions

Bring the sugar and corn syrup to a boil. Remove from heat and stir in the peanut butter until completely melted. Add Rice Krispies and stir until well coated. Press into a 9×13 cake pan. For the topping melt the chocolate chips and peanut butter chips together, then spread over the cake. Cut into squares before cooled.

In one word? Amazing. We had most of these squares eaten within two days. Rice Krispies and peanut butter are absolutely amazing together and this did not disappoint. What a nice treat! Before you get too excited that I actually had every ingredient on hand I actually used butterscotch chips instead of peanut butter chips, but get this – I actually had peanut butter chips, but just grabbed the wrong bag! Such is life!

Will this be a repeat? I’ll be making it again as soon as I have peanut butter on hand!

Leave a Reply

