Recipe #27: Easy Chocolate Chip Cookies

The day I made chocolate chip cookies for our Winter Olympics I also decided to make some cookies to take as a snack to work. We had many a days in the last couple weeks where everyone would finish their lunch and then kind of look around like where’s the chocolate? More than once someone opened the freezer in the staff room and said COOKIES! when they saw the cookies for Winter Olympics sitting in the freezer. By the time I finished the first batch of cookies though I was feeling a bit exhausted, but then this recipe jumped out at me – with only four ingredients how long would it take me to make it?

Ingredients

  • 1 box (18.25 Oz. Box) Moist White Cake Mix
  • 1 whole Egg
  • ½ cups Oil
  • 2 Tablespoons Water
  • 1 bag (11 Oz. Bag) Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350F. Pour cake mix into a large mixing bowl; add egg and oil. Stir together. Add 1 to 2 tablespoons of water, and mix well. Add all the chocolate chips and continue to mix the dough. Drop spoonfuls of dough onto un-greased cookie sheets and bake for 10 to 12 minutes. Cookies should not brown on top (only on the bottom).

My dough was somewhat runny after I had mixed everything together. My cake mix was in grams and not ounces so I converted it to ounces and found that my cake mix was slightly less than what the recipe called for. I added 1/4 to 1/2 a cup of flour to help stiffen the dough.

This is the first chocolate chip cookie I’ve ever made where the cookie dough was undesireable. You know how if you lick the beaters after you make a white or angel food cake mix that it tastes sort of…sour or citric like, that’s how the cookie dough tasted. I was worried the cookies wouldn’t be good, but they were delicious. The staff devoured them so they must have been acceptable!

Will I make this again? Yes! The recipe was fast and would make a great “unexpected company” snack.

Leave a Reply

