Recipe #28: Cheese, Mushroom & Herb Frittata

I’ve been craving eggs lately. I don’t know if it’s because of the lack of protein in my diet last week or what, but when I got up this morning I decided that I definitely needed to make something with eggs. A few weeks ago when I was looking for a quiche recipe I kept coming up with results for a frittata. I just really like the word frittata. Say it, frittata, isn’t it fun? Anyway I decided this morning that I wanted to try making a frittata, which is basically just like a quiche but without a crust.

I found a recipe for Cheese, Bacon & Herb Frittata, but made changes, of course! My roommate isn’t a fan of bacon (I know, how s that even possible?) so I swapped out the bacon for mushrooms.

Ingredients

  • 8 whole Eggs
  • ¼ cups Milk
  • 1 Tablespoon Dried Herbs Of Your Choice
  • 1 pinch Each Of Salt And Pepper
  • ½ cups Shredded Cheddar Cheese, Divided
  • 4 slices Crisp, Cooked Bacon
  • 2 whole Green Onions, Sliced Thin

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350° F. Lightly grease a 9 inch pie plate and set aside. Add eggs and milk to a bowl and beat together. Stir in herbs, salt and pepper. Pour egg mixture into prepared pie plate. Sprinkle over half the cheese and drop bacon pieces evenly around the dish. Cover with remaining cheese. Bake in pre-heated oven for 30 minutes, or until cheese has melted and the eggs are puffed up and the edges starting to brown. Remove from oven and sprinkle with sliced green onion. Let cool slightly then slice and serve.

Variations: Substitute ham or sausage for bacon, or omit meat for a vegetarian option. Use fresh herbs instead of dried. Add fresh, diced veggies. Anything goes!

Aside from adding mushrooms instead of bacon I also decided to use some of my Everyday Style Herb & Garlic dip mix in place of the herbs. I cut back on the tablespoon just slightly because I didn’t want it to be overwhelming. It came out of the oven puffed up to the end of the pie plate, but when we cut it things settled down. I love the texture of cooked eggs.

No complaints from either my roommate or I as we ate breakfast. The Herb & Garlic mix was the perfect addition and every bite was delicious. The whole recipe was easy to whip together and I had it in the oven within 10 minutes of choosing the recipe, and that included chopping everything up.

Will this be my new go to breakfast? I think it just might! It was delicious!

One thought on “Recipe #28: Cheese, Mushroom & Herb Frittata

  1. Date Girl says:

    Oh this looks amazing. I’m definitely going to try this!

Leave a Reply

