Recipe #29: Creamy Cucumber Salad

A few weeks ago my Grandma fell in her kitchen and ended up breaking her wrist in two places, and fracturing her pelvis, resulting in a two week hospital stay. This past weekend our school division had a long weekend and I was able to come home for four days. Grandma came home from the hospital, but because her mobility is limited thanks to the fractured pelvis, and her right arm is essentially useless at the time being thanks to the broken wrist, she’s not exactly up to cooking. While my Grandpa is capable of cooking for her he’s really a meat and potatoes kind of guy. When I stopped in on Friday to see how she was doing they were having steak and beans for supper. A very brown meal!

Whenever I come home for a weekend Mom usually tries to make a supper to get my grandparents and some of my aunts and uncles together so we can have some quality family time. Because Grandma’s mobility is so limited right now I decided to have our “Woohoo Nadine’s Home Family Supper” but I made the meal, along with my Aunty Shelly’s help, to take over to Grandma and Grandpa’s place. I tried a couple of new recipes for our supper, one for dessert and then this salad.

I was staring in the fridge trying to decide what I could make when the cucumbers jumped out at me. Back in the summer my mom, Aunty Karen, and I had lunch at Seager Wheeler Farm, and one of the menu items was a creamy cucumber salad. I still remember it being amazing. So amazing in fact that I told Mom that if I ever get married someday I want it to be at Seager Wheeler, just so that cucumber salad can be part of the meal. But, back to the cucumbers in my fridge. I had cucumbers and sour cream, so to the internet I went to find a recipe. There are apparently a lot of different cucumber salad recipes, but the one from Canadian Living sounded most like the salad I’d had last summer.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups thinly sliced peeled English cucumbers
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup thinly sliced red onions
  • 1/4 cup regular sour cream
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh dill, (or 1 tsp/5mL dried dillweed)
  • 1 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp granulated sugar

Preparation Instructions

In colander, sprinkle cucumber with salt ; let stand to drain for 30 minutes. Pat dry. Meanwhile, soak onion in cold water for 15 minutes; drain and pat dry. In bowl, whisk together sour cream, dill, vinegar and sugar. Add cucumber and onion; toss to coat.

I only made a few exceptions to the recipe based on what we had in the fridge. I used regular vinegar, and a white Vidalia onion, because it’s what we had. I didn’t soak the onion either, because apparently I can’t read. Now that I’m copying and pasting the recipe I’m seeing that I clearly missed the line about the onion. If I ever make a recipe from start to finish that uses all of the ingredients a recipe calls for, in the required amounts, it will be truly amazing!

Some of the reviews I read recommended adding a tablespoon or so of ranch salad dressing, and I fully intended to, but forgot until we were already eating. I think I would prefer the salad with fresh cucumbers, and then eating it right after it was made instead of having to “dry” my cucumbers. Fresh is best!

Will I make this again? I already have – I took it to school for lunch!

One thought on “Recipe #29: Creamy Cucumber Salad

  1. Date Girl says:

    I love cucumbers and I love sour cream. Sounds like a win win recipe to me.

Leave a Reply

