Fat Quarter Camera Strap

I made a camera strap cover for my camera a couple of years ago, and although I’ve liked the look of it, it’s bothered me for the past two years. I made it wide enough that I could put a pocket on it that would hold my lens cap, but the strap itself isn’t that wide, so to have a camera strap cover that was wider than the actual strap meant it always felt so bulky. I preferred the look of the bulky cover to no cover at all so I’ve just been dealing with it for the past two years.

In my web travels on the weekend though I came across a tutorial for a camera strap cover using a fat quarter, or really, part of a fat quarter. Had I been ambitious I could have made probably three camera strap covers out of one fat quarter, but I wasn’t feeling ambitious.

This new strap is wonderful! It fits snuggly around the actual camera strap, although a bit too snuggly. The original dimensions were for a strap that was wider than mine, so I cut the fabric narrower, but by the time I got my raw edges folded under and sewed down it fits TIGHT. The complete opposite of the old strap. As tight as it is though there isn’t going to be very much movement from the cover moving around on the strap, so at least I don’t have that to worry about! Now that I’ve had a chance to take a few pictures with it though I love the snuggness of it, because it seems like it takes up so little room. I pull it out of my purse, or put it back in my purse and it doesn’t seem like I’m deal with a yard of fabric wrapped around my camera.

I used one of the Robert Kauffman fat quarters I had bought when I bought my Hopscotch Too quilt fabric. I love the bright orange. The original tutorial had some nice scrap flowers sewn onto it, so I thought I’d do the same. My scrap flowers need some work, but I still like how they turned out. I can handle keeping my lens cap in my pocket instead of the strap. Truthfully I don’t actually put the strap around my neck that often and the lens cap would fall out of the pocket if I wasn’t wearing it, so I guess this was just for the best!

One thought on “Fat Quarter Camera Strap

  1. Jessica says:

    I’ll take one in blue 😉

Leave a Reply

