Recipe #32: Chocolate Chip Cookies

There is no doubt in my mind that at the end of the year when I compile all of these recipes into a book that the majority of them will be cookies and waffles. When I went home to visit a few weekends ago I made a couple batches of cookies – one to leave at home and one to take to my grandparents. Grandma always has cookies on hand, but because she’d been in the hospital the cookie supply had run low. I stopped in on my way to town one day to see if they needed and groceries and Grandma said, “I’m embarrassed to even ask you this, but can you buy me some cookies? I’ve never had to buy cookies before!” I did buy her some cookies but came home with the determination to also bake her some.

I pulled out the newest Lutheran Church cookbook from the nearby church and searched for a cookie recipe. As soon as I saw that this recipe called for vanilla pudding powder I knew it was the one. My favorite cookie recipe has vanilla pudding powder in it and it is amazing! I thought this might have been the same recipe but the cookies weren’t the same.

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 3/4 cups brown sugar
  • 1 cup margarine
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 pkg vanilla instant pudding powder
  • 1-2 cups chocolate chips
  • 1 cup chopped nuts (optional)

Preparation Instructions

Mix flour and soda. Combine butter, sugars, vanilla and pudding powder in a large bowl, beating until smooth and creamy. Beat in eggs. Gradually add flour, chips and nuts. Batter will be stiff. Drop with a spoon onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake at 375 F for 8-10 minutes.

The cookies were good, and just the right kind of cookie for Grandma and Grandpa. They are crunchy cookie people and because I like to multitask while in the kitchen and also forget to set the timer they came out of the oven a little crunchier than I’d like. They were definitely tasty though as I had to shoo Dad away from the cooling cookies more than once.

Will I make these cookies again? Yes, but I’ll pay more attention to the timer!

Leave a Reply

