Recipe #33: Roasted Asparagus

I know a lot of people who wouldn’t necessarily classify this as a recipe, but it was a first for me. I’ve really only started to eat asparagus in the last two years. I don’t remember where I was the first time I tried it, but it has become a food I typically only associate with summer because it tastes really good when it’s grilled. During my week of eating meat free I stocked up on lots of veggies, and decided that maybe I could try cooking asparagus myself. I had no idea how it was going to taste as I had no idea how to even pick a bundle of asparagus – what makes it good asparagus? What makes it bad asparagus?

It sat in the fridge for the better part of the week before I finally decided it was time to do something with it. I searched for a few recipes on Tasty Kitchen but I wanted something simple and that wasn’t going to require a lot of extra prep work from me and I wasn’t finding what I was looking for. My friend Gavin is the one who finally suggested this simple how to on cooking asparagus.

Ingredients

  • asparagus spears
  • kosher or sea salt
  • olive oil
  • chopped garlic
  • ground pepper

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 400 F. Break woody stems off the end of the asparagus. Dump asparagus spears on baking tray. Drizzle with plenty of olive oil. Toss asparagus spears to coat in olive oil. Spread them out on baking tray evenly. Sprinkle sea salt (or kosher salt) on asparagus. Grind pepper over aspargus. Sprinkle bits of chopped garlic over asparagus. Stick in the oven and cook for about 10-15 minutes.

I wasn’t really sure what to expect but this was delicious. I gave some to my roommate and she enjoyed it too. I like how the tips get salty and flavorful while the stalks still stay nice and crisp. Mushy asparagus is not the best! This whole supper was really good – I made fried mushrooms, roasted asparagus, steamed snap peas, and the broccoli rice casserole. It was actually really filling! I didn’t cook all of the asparagus so it’s something that I can try again!

Will there be roasted asparagus in my future? Yes! I can’t wait to try it again!

2 thoughts on “Recipe #33: Roasted Asparagus

  1. Lauren says:

    Oh gosh I LOVE roasting vegetables. When you don’t know what else to do with something, roasting it is always a good option. Like brussels sprouts…. oh boy. Roasted asparagus is amazing.

  2. Date Girl says:

    This is the only way I eat asparagus. I find it so much better than steaming where they can get soggy. Have you had roasted broccoli? I tried it a few months ago and I am hooked!!

Leave a Reply

