Recipe #35: The Best Chocolate Cake

When recipes claim to be THE BEST I am always skeptical. Most of the time things that claim to be THE BEST don’t live up to what I have classified as THE BEST in my eyes. That being said when I saw this recipe at Kevin and Amanda I thought I would give it a try and then judge for myself. At work we celebrate birthdays by bringing cake or other goodies for the person whose birthday falls after ours. For me that meant that I didn’t need to make a cake until the end of March.

I woke up at the awful hour of 7am on the Sunday when I baked this cake and decided that if I was already up I may as well start baking. It was nice to have the house smelling like chocolate cake that early in the morning.

Ingredients

  • 1 box devil’s food cake mix
  • 1 small pkg Jello instant chocolate pudding mix
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups mini chocolate chips

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a very large bowl, mix together everything except chocolate chips. Batter will be thick. Stir in the chocolate chips. Pour batter into cake pan of choice. For cooking time, use the cooking times on the back of the devil’s food cake box as a guide and usually add 10 mins to whatever it says.

Icing cakes and I typically do not get along so I was a little hesitant to put the icing on this cake. I found some good instructions online for icing a cake and decided that ugly or not, it would still get eaten at work. This is the initial crumb icing layer. The crumb layer is supposed to help seal in the crumbs so they don’t end up all over the final layer. The parchment paper under the cake is something I learned from Martha Stewart years ago so the plate doesn’t get covered in icing.

I’m pretty impressed overall. The cake really is amazing. I still don’t know if it’s THE BEST, but based on the ingredients I would say that it’s definitely THE BEST cake mix cake I’ve ever had. It was moist even though I had worried that I’d over baked it, and the icing was a perfect complement because it was light and airy and not overly sweet. The majority of the cake was devoured in the staff room by the end of the day, with only a couple pieces remaining for the next day.

I’ll post the frosting recipe I used tomorrow.

Will I make this again? I don’t think I’ll ever use another cake mix without following this recipe!

Leave a Reply

