Recipe #36: Buttercream Frosting

I couldn’t take a birthday cake to work without having icing on it, so I decided to use buttercream frosting recipe that was paired with the chocolate cake on Kevin and Amanda. I’m not a huge fan of buttercream frosting because it’s typically so sweet that I feel like my teeth are rotting with every single bite, but I decided to take a chance. I figured since the cake was posted as THE BEST Chocolate Cake that the icing was probably part of the combination that made the cake taste so good.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup shortening (Crisco)
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream

Preparation Ingredients

In a mixing bowl, cream shortening until fluffy. Add sugar and continue creaming until well blended. Add salt, vanilla, and whipping cream. Blend on low speed until moistened. Beat at high speed until frosting is fluffy.

I’m not a fan of Crisco in things that aren’t baked. I find that it has a weird slippery texture, and isn’t the icing called buttercream, shouldn’t it have butter? But for once I didn’t change the recipe and went with it as described. I hated the icing straight out of the bowl. Normally I love icing, but every time I tried it all I could taste was Crisco. Part of the problem was that the icing was white and I expected to taste cream cheese frosting every time I tried it.

When I ate the icing alongside the cake though it was a great combination. It wasn’t tooth rotting sweet and when combined with a bite of the cake I couldn’t taste the Crisco at all anymore. There were numerous comments around the staff room table that it was sure nice that the icing wasn’t so sweet. I don’t know how something can taste bad out of the bowl, but great when paired with something else, but it really was good so I guess I won’t question it!

Will I ice a cake with this again? Very likely!

Leave a Reply

