Fat Quarter Produce Bags

I love fat quarters. They are the perfect size for small projects and it’s amazing sometimes the number of projects you could get out of one fat quarter. They are also small and seem to “fall” into my basket without me knowing, it’s very peculiar.

Robert Kauffman came out with a Dr. Seuss line of fabric and back in February when I went shopping with my mom and aunts I bought a few fat quarters. They’ve been in my stash since them not really having a specific purpose, but they sure are cute. I’m always on the lookout for cute fat quarters!

While they were sitting in my stash my friend Susie posted about some fabric produce bags she had made using a tutorial from Daisie Janie that made use of a fat quarter. I decided to give it a try. It took me around half an hour, start to finish, and could have taken me even less time had the iron and ironing board already been out.

The size is perfect for a produce bag, although as I was saying to my roommate, I’d feel like I was shoplifting by putting the produce into my own cloth bag, but I think I could get over it. When all was said and done though I realized that this was the perfect shape for a lunch bag, if I were to follow the instructions but use a piece of fabric that was slightly bigger than a fat quarter. I haven’t tried it yet, but it’s on my list!

3 thoughts on “Fat Quarter Produce Bags

  1. Lauren says:

    I remembered I have this enormous pile of fat quarters my grandma sent me awhile ago and since I didn’t know how to use my sewing machine until recently, I’ve never made anything with them. I am going to make these bags!!!!! 🙂

  2. Susie says:

    LOVE the fabric you chose, girlie! Good job, glad you found the tutorial useful 🙂

  3. Date Girl says:

    I obviously don’t sew because I didn’t know what a fat quarter was. That bag is adorable though!

Leave a Reply

