Recipe #38: Rogers Granola Bars

I went home for a few days this past weekend and did some baking for my parents. My mom is eye ball deep in tax returns at work and didn’t have any snacks on the counter the way my family normally does. I made unbaked cookies, known as frog guts in my family, and used up the last of the rolled oats we had in the cupboard. Mom was picking up groceries that night so she brought home a new bag of Rogers Large Flake Oats. We are normally a Quaker family so I made a joke that she was buying these just because my dad’s name is Roger.

I noticed a recipe on the back of the bag though for “U-Design” granola bars and decided to give the recipe a try. I liked that I could add to the recipe based on what I had on hand.

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups large flake oats
  • 2 cups crisp rice cereal
  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 1 cup nuts (sliced almonds, chopped hazelnuts, pecans, walnuts)
  • 1 cup dried fruits (raisins, cranberries, chopped apricots)
  • 1 cup seeds (sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, pumpkin seeds)
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 cup brown sugar

Preparation Instructions

Combine large flake oats, coconut, crisp rice, nuts, seeds, and dried fruits; set aside.

Place butter, honey and brown sugar in a large pot (4-5 L). Over medium heat stir to combine ingredients as butter melts. When mixture begins to bubble add dry ingredients and stir well. Cook approximately 7 minutes until mixture is light, golden brown, stirring constantly to avoid over-browning. Lower heat if mixture is darkening too quickly. Press into lightly greased 9×13 pan. Press down firmly. Cool completely. Cut into bars and wrap individually.

These were amazing! I made mine using Craisins, sunflower seeds, and sliced almonds. I added a cup of chocolate chips not realizing that I had to cook everything together, so of course the chocolate chips melted. It was actually a happy mistake though because now every bite has a hint of chocolate in it. In the future I think I will add some of the chocolate chips when it is being cooked, and then add a few more once I’ve removed the granola from the heat so they don’t all melt.

The granola bars were a hit with my family. The bag didn’t contain any nutritional information, but the front of the bag said the oats were a good source of protein, and really there’s not a lot of sugar. Probably not the healthiest option, but I don’t think they’d be terrible for you either. I definitely want to try these again with a new combination of ingredients.

Will I make this again? As soon as I have the ingredients!

5 thoughts on “Recipe #38: Rogers Granola Bars

  1. Cathy says:

    Hey Nadine – I just made some homemade granola bars last week and loved them too! The recipe I used was very similar to yours, except it didn’t call for cooking the oats in with the wet ingredients and instead you just poured it all together after cooking them and pressed it in the pan.

    I got a great tip from the website though – after the mixture has cooled a bit, stir in FROZEN chocolate chips (I used mini ones). Mine didn’t melt at all!

    Here’s the recipe I used: http://www.food.com/recipe/no-bake-rice-krispies-peanut-butter-granola-bars-lower-fat-73754

    I think for sure anything you make at home is going to be healthier than store bought stuff laden with preservatives and artificial what-not. But in general, there’s a lot of sugar and fat in any granola-ish food. Sure, there’s whole grain and healthy stuff too… as with anything, eating in moderation is the key, right?

    Have a great weekend, Nadine!

    • nadineabean says:

      Yes, you are right Cathy. I noticed that later when I found the nutritional info for the oats themselves. I was like whoa, that is a lot of calories for a small quantity!

  2. Nicole says:

    These look great! I am going to make them! I love the way you photographed the bar on the bag, looks cool!

  3. Vanessa says:

    I made these for a trip to the beach today. Why do I do this to Laney. She loved them once again, especially with the added sand. 😉 Diapers will once again be a challenge tomorrow.

  4. Laura says:

    I made these today and reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. Still plenty sweet and they held together perfectly. Next time I will try to reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup.

Leave a Reply

