Recipe #39: Crockpot Hamburger Soup

I am a big fan of crock pot cooking, though I never do it. It’s like you dirty one dish and voila, massive meal is prepared with minimal effort! When I was at home I decided I wanted to make hamburger soup on a Sunday morning, but then I also wanted to go visit my grandparents, so I decided the easiest thing to do would be to throw everything in the crock pot, go visit them, and then come home for lunch. As it turned out I ended up having lunch with them and didn’t get to try the soup until the next day when I was far too preoccupied to actually remember eating it, but that is another completely different story for another time.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 3 cups boiling water
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1 tsp season salt
  • 1 envelope onion soup mix
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 cup celery, chopped
  • 1 cup potatoes, diced
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 cup carrots, chopped
  • 1 small box elbow macaroni, cooked

Preparation Instructions

Brown ground beef and add to slow cooker. Add pepper, basil, oregano, season salt, and dry onion soup mix. Stir in boiling water, tomato sauce, soy sauce. Add potatoes, celery, onion and carrots. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours. Turn to high, and add cooked macaroni. Cover and cook on high 10-15 minutes.

The original recipe called to crumble the raw beef into the slow cooker, but I initially made this recipe with the intent on eating it 3-4 hours later and the thought of putting raw beef into my soup just really bothered me, so I chose to brown it first. This is a change I will stick with indefinitely because I simply cannot fathom putting raw beef into my slow cooker in soup. I’m sure it’s perfectly safe and totally normal, but I just can’t wrap my head around it.

The only other modifications I made were based on my lack of ingredients, I didn’t have any tomato sauce on hand so I used a jar of mom’s canned tomatoes from the garden and added a can of tomato soup to the mix. My dad is a complainer when it comes to eating so the fact that he ate more than one bowl makes me feel like the soup was a success.

As an aside Mom told me that Dad had been trying to cook some suppers for her since she’s working so late and being someone who typically complains that something is lacking from what we make admitted to mom that his cooking just didn’t taste as good as hers or mine. Winner!

I only had one bowl of soup the day after I made it and was completely preoccupied with other things happening that day that I honestly have no idea how the soup tasted. I don’t remember eating it, though I am fairly certain that I did.

Will I try this again? Yes, at least so I can make a better decision on how good it is!

Leave a Reply

