Recipe #41: Hashbrown Casserole

I love breakfast foods, even when served at non-breakfast times. I made this hashbrown casserole when I was home for brinner (breakfast for dinner) with Mom and Dad. I have a go-to recipe for this dish, but decided that I’d seek out a new recipe this time.

It should also be noted again that casseroles are really hard to take appetizing pictures of.

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds Shredded Potatoes
  • 8 ounces, fluid Sour Cream
  • 1 can (10.75 Oz. Can) Cream Of Chicken Soup
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • ½ teaspoons Ground Black Pepper
  • ½ cups Butter, Melted
  • 1 cup Chopped Scallions
  • 8 ounces, fluid Grated Sharp Cheddar Cheese

Preparation Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Mix all ingredients together in a large mixing bowl. Spray a 9×13 glass baking dish with cooking spray. Transfer the potato mixture to the baking dish, spreading it evenly.

Bake for approximately 45 minutes or until cheese is melted and the top of the casserole is nicely browned.

This was not a hit at our house. It wasn’t terrible, but the cream of chicken soup, instead of the cream of mushroom we are used to, definitely changed the taste of the dish. Everything else combined goes really well together, but if I were to make it again I would definitely not be using the cream of chicken soup.

I’m impressed that I’ve made it to recipe #41 before I found a definite “no repeat” recipe.

Will I make this again? No, it will not replace my current standby recipe for this.

 

Leave a Reply

