Recipe #42: Thick Strawberry-Banana Milkshake

I like things with the word “shake” in the title – milkshake, protein shake, Shake & Bake, etc. On mornings when I’m in a rush or don’t feel like making much for breakfast I like to throw a protein shake together and they are typically always the same – 2 scoops of protein powder, a banana, a small vanilla yogurt and some milk. Nothing extra. I blend, drink, and go. When I found this recipe I decided to mix my morning routine up and try something different.

Ingredients

  • 1 whole Ripe Banana
  • 6 whole Frozen Strawberries
  • ½ teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Tablespoon Brown Sugar
  • ⅓ cups Plain Yogurt
  • ⅓ cups Half-and-Half, Or Milk

Preparation Instructions

Toss everything in your blender. Blend! Drink.

If you don’t like your smoothies so thick, just add more milk. If you like them fruitier, just add more strawberries. If you want to exponentially add decadence, spoon in some vanilla ice cream. Switch up the fruit selection, the flavor of yogurt you use—it’s versatile! This really is the easiest thing you’ll ever make.

This was a tasty milkshake, although mine wasn’t very thick. Why? Because I can’t read. I thought the recipe called for a half cup of the yogurt and the milk, but later realized it only called for a third, so mine got to be a little runny. It was still tasty though! I’ll add a bit of protein powder the next time I make it to help to be more like my breakfast shakes.

Will I make this again? Yes.

Leave a Reply

