Recipe #44: Chicken Souvlaki Pita with Tzatziki

I love tzatziki sauce. I can’t remember where I was the first time I had it or even what I had it with, but I’ve been hooked for a couple of years. I came across this recipe on the Tasty Kitchen blog and decided it would be a good recipe to try when my friend Carmen was visiting as she is also a big tzatziki fan. I actually have a recipe saved for homemade pitas that I wanted to try in combination with this recipe, but I had too much going on then to do both at the same time.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast
  • 4 teaspoons Cavender’s All Purpose Greek Seasoning
  • 4 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 12 ounces, weight Drained, Non-fat Plain Yogurt
  • 1 whole Cucumber, Chopped
  • ½ whole Yellow Onion, Chopped
  • 2 teaspoons Lemon Juice
  • Pinch of Dill
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Preparation Instructions

Pound out the chicken breast until they are about 1/2 inch thick.Rub down with olive oil then season both sides generously with the Cavender’s Greek Seasoning Salt. Wrap the chicken in cling wrap and refrigerate for several hours. Grill for about 3 minutes. Let sit for a minute or two then slice into strips.

The night before, place 12 oz of plain non-fat yogurt in a coffee filter then set in a mesh colander set over a bowl and drain it in the fridge overnight. If you like you can also use Greek yogurt, which is nice and thick, and doesn’t need to be drained overnight.

While chicken is grilling, chop up the cucumber and the onion. Mix the cucumber, onion with the drained yogurt, add the lemon juice and salt and pepper to taste.

Place grilled chicken strips and tzatziki into warmed pitas folded in half and enjoy.

We all ate these quite happily. We actually cut up our chicken before grilling it so each piece was marinated. I also made some changes to the tzatziki sauce by adding in a bit of dill and used the Greek yogurt. Greek yogurt is really thick, and had a bit of weird consistency to it, but once inside the pita it tasted great. Greek yogurt can be hard to find, so if I had trouble finding it in the future I think I’d make it with store bought tzatziki.

We wrapped our stuffed pitas in tin foil to keep all of the chicken and tzatziki inside, a lot like how we normally eat a donair. They were yummy!

Will I make this again? You bet!

Leave a Reply

