Recipe #46: Waffles

During our Craftapalooza weekend when Carmen was here I got up one morning with the intent of making waffles. Much to my horror I realized that our eggs were still at school (a student at school raises chickens and we buy our eggs from her). I’d promised Carmen waffles and white sauce though, so to the computer I went searching for egg replacements in recipes. Luckily one of the first suggestions I found was to use a whole mashed banana in place of each egg. I love bananas and I had two slightly brown bananas sitting on my counter, so I thought why not?

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 c. flour
  • 1 3/4 c. milk
  • 1/2 c. oil
  • 1 tbsp. sugar
  • 4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla

Preparation Instructions

Combine eggs, milk and oil. Mix well. Add the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt until completely blended, but don’t over mix. Stir in the vanilla. On a hot waffle iron pour approximately 1/4 cup of batter onto the griddle and allow to cook.

I posted the recipe with the eggs, but it was easy to make the banana replacement. Without the eggs the waffles came out a lot heavier than normal. Normally on a waffle morning we eat at least half of the waffles, and this morning? We each had one and we were stuffed. The banana was a nice addition though, and it tasted extra good with the white waffle sauce.

Will I make this again? Yes, it was a happy omission and replacement.

Leave a Reply

