Recipe #48: Pepperoni Pizza Scones

I love pizza, but it’s one thing I hate making. It doesn’t matter how many times I attempt to make it I find I always prefer the taste of store or restaurant made pizza. Maybe because I find making pizza to be time consuming and it’s less time consuming to just pick up the phone and order?

Anyway, I bought the supplies for this recipe awhile ago with the intent of making it one night when a bunch of friends were over for a BBQ, except horror of all horrors I was out of flour. How does someone who tries to maintain a cooking blog run out of flour without realizing she’s almost out? I mean I had to make up a shopping list of all the things I needed for this recipe, but never double checked the flour situation? I’ll never run out of flour again!

This recipe was highlighted over at Tasty Kitchen once and I thought it seemed like something that would incorporate something that I loved to eat (pizza) with someone that I hate to make (pizza).

Ingredients

  • 2 cups All-purpose Flour
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • 1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
  • ¼ teaspoons Baking Soda
  • 2 Tablespoons Sugar
  • ½ teaspoons Garlic Powder
  • ⅓ cups Cold Butter
  • 3-½ ounces, weight Pepperoni
  • 1-¼ cup Grated Mozzarella Cheese
  • ¼ cups Grated Cheddar Cheese
  • 1 cup Milk

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 400ºF. Line a sheet tray with parchment paper and set aside. In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients. Stir in butter and break into small pieces using a pastry cutter. Cut pepperoni into smaller pieces and stir into dry ingredients with the mozzarella and cheddar cheeses. Stir in milk until all ingredients have moistened completely.

Sprinkle a piece of wax paper liberally with flour. Scrape dough onto the wax paper and top with more flour. Place another piece of wax paper over the top and squish the dough down to be 1 1/2 to 2 inches in thickness. Carefully remove the wax paper. Cut like a pie into 8 pieces and place onto parchment paper. (If you don’t sprinkle the bottom well with flour, the dough will stick, so be aware!)

Bake for 15–20 minutes or until scones are golden brown. Serve warm with marinara sauce.

Despite my luck in the past with recipes that require me counting out a specific number of pieces this still turned out really well, and I really did end up making 8 scones like the recipe says! They had the flavour of pizza while seeming to be less greasy and definitely nowhere near as messy! I took them to school a few times this week to have with marinara sauce and they were great!

Will this be a repeat recipe? I froze some of the pepperoni, so I’m thinking a definite yes!

Leave a Reply

