The Days That Are and Were

Blogging has been scarce around here lately, though not for lack of things to talk about. I feel like I have a million things to share, but time is just not in my favor. At the end of March I went home for a long weekend and found out that a couple elementary teaching positions in my hometown were coming open. I did a little research and found out that between the two communities closest to my parents there were four teaching positions available. I spent the next two weeks not sleeping.

The idea of leaving moving is overwhelming, which is funny considering how much I hated this place when I first visited and then how quickly panic over the thought of leaving settled in. After a lot of internal struggle I finally decided to apply for all four teaching positions. In my mere 26 years of life this was the hardest decision I’ve ever made, which was crazy in hindsight considering applying didn’t even ensure that I’d get a job. My principal reminded me on more than one occasion that God has a plan for all of us, and not to worry about things that were out of control.

Apparently God’s plan was for me to move home, because after I was interviewed for all four teaching positions I was offered a Kindergarten, Grade 1 and Grade 2 position at home. I accepted the position at the beginning of April and have since spent as much of my free time as possible enjoying the life I have here. I am thrilled to be moving home and being closer to family, though I am trying to enjoy my last month here with a very heavy heart. It feels a lot like a break up, leaving this town that I thought I’d hate and instead grew to love. Which means I have an abundance of things to share, and very little time to do it.

Leave a Reply

