Recipe #52: Overnight Waffles

It goes without saying that I love waffles, and even more so waffle sauce! The problem with waffles and waffle sauce, and I think my mom will agree with me, is that trying to mix the waffles and cook them and stir the sauce constantly can make for a hectic morning in the kitchen, and no one likes a hectic breakfast. I’m trying to use up some of the goods in my pantry and yeast was one thing in my collection. I remember seeing recipes for yeasted waffles, so I did a little research. I had no idea the recipe was for overnight waffles but it was a nice surprise that I could get the batter ready and have it waiting for me in the morning.

I did a little searching and came up with this recipe for overnight waffles. I threw the batter together, went to bed and forgot about it until morning.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 tsp instant yeast
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 cups milk
  • 8 tbsp butter, melted and cooled
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs

Preparation Instructions

Before going to bed, combine the dry ingredients and stir in the milk, then the butter and vanilla. The mixture will be loose. Cover with plastic wrap and set aside overnight at room temperature.

Brush the waffle iron lightly with oil and preheat it. Separate the eggs and stir the yolks into the batter. Beat the whites until they hold soft peaks. Stir them gently into the batter.

Pour batter onto the waffle iron and bake until the waffle is done, usually 3 to 5 minutes, depending on your iron. Serve immediately or keep warm for a few minutes in a low oven.

These waffles were amazing. They were light and slightly crispy on the outside, yet still soft and sweet on the inside. These are definitely my new favorite waffle recipe! Having the batter ready to go first thing in the morning made breakfast preparation a breeze, and it also reduced the mess significantly since I had already done the dishes the night before.

Will I use this recipe again? I think it’s my new “go-to” recipe for waffles!

Leave a Reply

