Recipe #52: Buffalo Chicken Enchiladas

Before my friend Nichole had her baby boy Grayson she blogged about a few recipes she made for the freezer in preparation of his arrival. This recipe for Buffalo Chicken Enchiladas was one that she had posted and I saved right away. I’ve never made enchiladas before. In fact I’ve never even had one. Anytime I’ve seen someone order them at a restaurant they always come with olives, black beans and corn and I’m not real wild over that Southwest sort of stuff, but this recipe had cheese and chicken, so how could it be bad?

Ingredients

  • 1 can (10-3/4 oz size) condensed cream of chicken soup
  • 1 cup sour cream ranch dip
  • 3 cups chopped cooked chicken
  • 3/4 cup purchased buffalo wing sauce
  • 12 flour tortillas (6″ size)
  • 3 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Preparation Instructions

Heat oven to 350F. Spray 13×9″ glass baking dish with cooking spray.

In medium bowl, mix soup and dip. In large bowl, mix chicken and buffalo wing sauce until coated. 

Spoon 2 Tbsp soup mixture down center of each tortilla; set remaining mixture aside. Reserve 1/2 cup cheese for garnish. Top each tortilla with about 1/4 cup chicken mixture and scant 1/4 cup cheese. Fold sides of tortillas over filling; place seam side down in baking dish. Spoon remaining soup mixture over filled tortillas.

Bake 40-45 minutes or until hot and bubbly. 

Remove from oven. Uncover; sprinkle with reserved 1/2 cup cheese.  Return to oven; bake uncovered about 5 min longer or until cheese is melted.

Since I’ve actually been following recipes lately it seems appropriate that I didn’t really follow this one, because that’s who I am. I think I changed something about every step. I used chicken drumsticks for the meat and then shredded it. Instead of the sour cream ranch dip I used sour cream and some ranch. The most noticeable change was that I used large 12″ tortilla shells and because I was feeding only me I reduced the recipe so I ended up with 3 large enchiladas, enough to feed me for three meals.

I’ll admit that I was very skeptical about eating these because of the cream of chicken soup. I threw out two cans of it before I finally felt like the third one I opened looked safe. It came out of the oven tasting delicious though with a nice creamy inside and crispy cheese on the outside. I enjoyed it for all three meals!

Will I make this again? Yes, and with the proper size tortilla!

Leave a Reply

